

## Resolution of The Board of Supervisors of Ventura County

## Honoring

## Saint Paul Baptist Church 100th Year Anniversary as the First African American Church in Ventura County

Whereas, the first edifice was at 3188 West Seventh Street. Oxnard, under the leadership of Pastor J.D. Pettigrew; and,

Whereas, Rev. G.G. Bailey served as pastor from 1942 to 1944 and the first board of deacons was formed; and,

Whereas, Rev. Jesse Walker served as pastor from 1944 to 1972. The board of Trustees was formed, and the Saint Paul was incorporate; and,

Whereas, during this time Evening services were broadcast live from the sanctuary; and,

Whereas, in January 1960 the edifice at 1354 South "C" Street, Oxnard. The first service was held on April 23, 1960. Church auxiliaries and ministries were organized and,

Whereas, Rev. H.N. Edwards accepted the call to the ministry and was installed as Pastor of the Saint Paul Baptist Church; and,

Whereas, Saint Paul became affiliated with the Progressive National Baptist Convention; and,

Whereas, and, Saint Paul became involved and supported home and foreign missions' programs; and,

Whereas, Dr. Broderick A. Huggins was installed as the Saint Paul Baptist Church on November 11, 1990. The church relocated to its current address 1777 Statham Blvd., Oxnard; and,

Whereas, the new facility included a Family Life Center, Child Day Care Center and a Community Gym. During Pastor Huggins time he implemented an annual Family & Friends Weekend, a Wednesday Night Light program, Family Conference Seminars, Annual First Fruits Services, Children's Church Ministry, Evangelism and Community Outreach Programs.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, County of Ventura Board of Supervisors expresses its extreme gratitude and appreciation to Saint Pail Baptist Church as they celebrate 100 years serving our communities in the County of Ventura.

Presented on this 9th day of April 2019

Linda Parks, 2nd District

Chair of the Board of Supervisors Steve Bennett, First District

Kelly Long, 3rd District

Robert O. Huber, 4th District

John C. Zaragoza, 5th District

